Application Development and Automation Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Read only

Auth obj - Maintainence status change

Former Member
0 Likes
1,020

Hi,

would like to change the Maintainance status of Auth obj from "Changed" or "Maintained" to --> "Manual" . Is it possible, without adding the same manually.

planning to do this as during merging, "Manual" auth objs are not disturbed.

Thanks,

Sam

Message was edited by: Sam

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Read only

Former Member
0 Likes
922

Hi Sam,

It sounds like you are planning to "merge" your roles by inserting

the profiles of the selected roles. While this will accomplish your goal

of getting access for your users - it will be a nightmare to maintain.

As already mentioned, you will be bypassing the functions of profile generator in

the way it was intended to function. If you want to merge 2 roles, then you

should only merge the menu sections of the roles and then allow PG to

select your authorization objects. If you only have profiles, then look

at the values in S_TCODE and insert these into the role menu section.

Regards,

JC

Hi,

would like to change the Maintainance status of Auth obj from "Changed" or "Maintained" to --> "Manual" . Is it possible, without adding the same manually.

planning to do this as during merging, "Manual" auth objs are not disturbed.

Thanks,

Sam

Message was edited by: Sam

3 REPLIES 3
Read only

Former Member
0 Likes
922

Hi,

simply deactivate (do not delete) the original authentication and add it again. No other way (besides permanently removing it from SU24 of course).

Regards,

Dominik

Read only

christian_wippermann
Product and Topic Expert
Product and Topic Expert
0 Likes
922

Hi Sam,

This does not help you. This way you return to manual maintenance of profiles and you do not use the advantages of PFCG (and SU24). In fact, you should get rid of manually added objects and maintain them through SU24.

The problem you are facing is due to deleting objects from roles or changing objects without creating a copy of the object. <b>Never</b> delete standard objects. They will reappear. Always inactivate objects you do not want in a role - or change SU24 from "check maintain" to "check".

Best regards,

Christian

Read only

Former Member
0 Likes
923

Hi Sam,

It sounds like you are planning to "merge" your roles by inserting

the profiles of the selected roles. While this will accomplish your goal

of getting access for your users - it will be a nightmare to maintain.

As already mentioned, you will be bypassing the functions of profile generator in

the way it was intended to function. If you want to merge 2 roles, then you

should only merge the menu sections of the roles and then allow PG to

select your authorization objects. If you only have profiles, then look

at the values in S_TCODE and insert these into the role menu section.

Regards,

JC