Technology Blogs by Members
Explore a vibrant mix of technical expertise, industry insights, and tech buzz in member blogs covering SAP products, technology, and events. Get in the mix!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Joseph_BERTHE
Active Contributor

Introduction

As a Fiori developer, I have encountered the following issue on several occasions: "Where is the source code of the application located?" Previously, when using SAP WebIDE, it was possible to retrieve the complete code of an application already deployed in SAP Gateway. However, with the latest innovations in Fiori development, this technique no longer works as effectively, and the reference source code is now located in Git. SAP Fiori Tools or UI5 Tooling are NodeJS-based tools that add files to our Fiori application, and these files are not stored in the backend. On the other hand, the Git server will store all this data for us.

For developers coming from the pure SAP/ABAP world, using Git can indeed be unclear or even seem like a daunting task to grasp. I will write a blog post on how to use Git in an SAP On-Premise context.

How to secure the source code?

I've had an experience in my career where, during the development of a Fiori application, a developer would occasionally push without realizing the importance of this action. The application went into production, and a few months later, we were asked to make a modification. Following this change, a regression appeared. My colleague had relied on the incorrect code because I had forgotten to do the push!

When starting to develop Fiori applications with Git, it's common to primarily use the "master/main" branch and misuse commit and push practices. In such cases, the developer deploys the application directly from their own workstation.

Then comes the fundamental question:

How can you ensure that the Git source code matches the version deployed on the SAP system?