cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Delta Mechanism Type CALDAY for Generic Extractor

0 Kudos

Hi All,

I am a SAP BW Consultant, currently working on a project and there is a possible requirements to create generic datasource/ extractor for several table. Here, I just want to ask, whether the information that I share is proper to be sharing knowledge or there is still some not correct information which need to be corrected and I also want to ask some question about this topic.

~

So, the case is, I have a table with column AUFNR as a key, and two date columns, they are CREATE_DATE and CHANGE_DATE. As you can see in the picture attached, Create Day's column just to show when the Order Number is created and not one of the table's containing column. Let's suggest that the initialization was done on 01.01.2022 and normally there is two data records added to the generic extractor table. My concern show up, that is to pick CHANGE_DATE as delta type for CALDAY rather than pick CREATE_DATE.

~

This is the explanation that I want to confirm :

In the picture above, let's suggest, I pick CREATE_DATE as delta, on 06.01.2022, then, when delta on that day is running, 1 delta record was not fetched. The record is :

That is because the CREATE_DATE value 01.01.2022 as delta, so in the generic extractor table has the data with that same CREATE_DATE, when the initialization on 01.01.2022 was done and that record was mark as not delta, but we know that is wrong.

For avoid that kind of mistake, I prefer use the most update date column for become the delta, in this case, column CHANGE_DATE. As you can see, when delta is running on 06.01.2022, the delta record with CHANGE_DATE = 05.01.2022 was fetched.

Why delta on 06.01.2022 only fetch CHANGE_DATE = 05.01.2022 ? This is because, the setting I've used :