cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to configure sybase(primary) to sybase(standby) replication?

0 Kudos

Hello Experts,

I am new to sybase and i have a have a task for implementing database replication for solman 7.2 that is installed on Sybase ase 16.0 and AIX operating system.

From my research i have noted that there are two possible approaches:-

1. Use of SRS
  2. Log shipping

Which method is recommended and which reasons?

If go for SRS option, will i need a seperate server or i can still install it on either primary or standay server?

Regards,

James.

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (6)

Answers (6)

0 Kudos

Hello James,

In addition to above recommendations, HADR setup require additional host in case if you want Fault manager to automate the Replication monitor/failover and Fault manager installation requires same platform as HADR node RDMS version is ASE16 . However, if your RDBMS is on ASE 15 these are straight forward steps as per the standard configuration shared by kashyap.shah3

Thanks,

Amar

0 Kudos

Thanks for your input Amarnath

kashyap_shah3
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi James,

The figure on Overview of the HADR System describes architecture for an HADR system using SRS.

You can drill further down to look at Installing HADR for Business Suite for the procedure.

Unfortunately I've not got a screenshot procedure which would have made life much simpler for you.

Let me know if you've specific doubts following the procedure.

Best Regards,
Kashyap Shah

0 Kudos

Hi Kashyap,

Thank you.

My exact scenario is this. Primary db(Production solman) is already is in place. Standby is also in place but I have doubts with it and want to re-install it and configure HADR afresh.

If I re-install standby application and database(with equal versions, SPs and PLs), will I have to redo all the configurations(solman_setup) manually or they will be populated from the primary db during replication?

kashyap_shah3
Contributor
0 Kudos