cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trigger a workflow from ABAP Webdynpro

Former Member
0 Kudos

My Scenario:

Step 1: When a user hits the SAVE button on the webdynpro form, check if that data is consistent only and trigger a message(I have a BAPI to handle this check).

Step 2: If the data is consistent, then trigger a workflow to send an alert to an agent along with the data user entered on the form.

Step 3: AGENT shall review the data(Same form from step 1 should appear here) and will have the option to SUBMIT / POST or REJECT. If SUBMITTED, data will be posted to R/3(I have a 2nd BAPI to handle this). If REJECTED, send an alert back to the USER who entered data in step 1.

I checked lots of threads from the forum, none gave me a complete idea. Can any one give me a good documentation to trigger workflow from webdynpro to handle my requirement.

I am new to webdynpro.

I checked this blogs & articles also...

/people/ginger.gatling/blog/2005/12/14/create-new-uis-for-existing-workflow-tasks-with-abap-web-dynpro-and-universal-worklist

http://www.sdn.sap.com/irj/servlet/prt/portal/prtroot/com.sap.km.cm.docs/library/user-interface-tech...

Thanks a lot in advance.

Best Regards,

Kiran

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Kiran,

To trigger the workflow from webdynpro application.

First create BOR object using transaction swo1 and then create your workflow. To trigger workflow use following code:

* Triggering workflow through BOR and passing the container IT_CONT to it

CALL FUNCTION 'SWE_EVENT_CREATE'
    EXPORTING
      objtype           = 'ZFLM'
      objkey            = obj_key
      event             = 'ON_SUBMIT'
    IMPORTING
      event_id          = it_event_id
    TABLES
      event_container   = it_cont
    EXCEPTIONS
      objtype_not_found = 1
      OTHERS            = 2.

IF it_event_id IS NOT INITIAL.
    COMMIT WORK.
  ENDIF.

Former Member
0 Kudos

SAP_WAPI_START_WORKFLOW.