Technology Blogs by Members
Explore a vibrant mix of technical expertise, industry insights, and tech buzz in member blogs covering SAP products, technology, and events. Get in the mix!
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
prashujust4u
Participant
Hello Everyone! I am an SAP HANA Senior Consultant working closely with SAP SLT to bring data into Enterprise HANA. Today I want to share with you an important SLT solution by which you can prevent Hard Deleted records from your Source System triggering the delete in your target HANA database and then identify these records.

Requirement:
Need to preserve S/4HANA table hard-deleted records in Enterprise HANA.
Identify these records in Enterprise HANA by setting IS_DELETED = 'Y'.

Challenge: SLT Replication by default will ensure that both source and target data records match all the time. This means that even deletion (of record) in the Source will be passed on to the Target system and cause a deletion in Target - to ensure data record count matches exactly between Source and Target tables.
We seek to override this default behaviour!

Architecture:

System Architecture

Possible Solutions:
We have 3 approaches:

1. SLT: Create a Transformation Rule to handle the Delete Images in Source Side and convert them to Update Image. Then populate a column (eg: IS_DELETED='Y') to identify these hard deleted records.
    Reference: https://blogs.sap.com/2014/03/06/how-to-avoid-a-deletion-of-a-record/

2. SLT: Ignore the delete trigger. Using this approach the Delete Images will not be passed to HANA – hence you will retain all the records. However you will not be able to identify the deletions on HANA side.
    Reference: https://launchpad.support.sap.com/#/notes/0002850265