cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SAP and Eclipse

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi:

Just wondering if someone could give me any input of where Eclipse fits into SAP Java programming? I'm fairly new to SAP coming from a software development background and I'm now wishing to put my JAVA skills to good use with SAP. I'm aware that SAP WAS has a JAVA IDE inbuilt for development, however I read briefly that Eclipse was playing a part also in SAP development?

Thanks

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

pravesh_verma
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Oliver,

There is nothing much to wonder about :)!!

Actually SAP is using t he Eclipse IDe for the development and use the plugin concept for providing the compatibility for the development of the application like HTMLB, and webDynpro.

Any framework which SAP wants to add to the eclipse IDE it just add it as a new plugin and then we can use the IDe for SAP specific application development.

I hope this helps you. Kindly revert back in case of any further clarification.

Regards

Pravesh

PS: Please consider rewarding points if helpful and solved.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Yes, that did! Thankyou very much for that.

Well in that case, familiarisation with the Eclipse IDE would stand me in good stead with the Netweaver IDE?

Do you know if it is possible to write application outside of the Netweaver IDE, within Eclipse and port them in?

Last question, are there certain elements of Eclipse that are used within SAP IDE? There is a plethora of options available for use when you look at the Eclipse download packages, therefore I would like to attempt to become familiar with those most in use within the SAP environment!

Thanks

Oliver

Former Member
0 Kudos

1. Well in that case, familiarisation with the Eclipse IDE would stand me in good stead with the Netweaver IDE? --><b>SURELY YES</b>