Welcome Corner Blog Posts
Go a little bit deeper into the Welcome Corner with blog posts. Learn how to get started in SAP Community and get tips on maximizing your participation.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
julie_barrier
Explorer

I’m a newbie to SCN. I’ve been admiring all of you active participants from afar for a couple years, wanting to come out and play with you, but feeling that perhaps, as a “Marketing” professional at SAP, I may not be as welcomed as most of you who have a more technical distinction. Let's just say that I was (and still am...) feeling just a wee bit inTIMIDated by the whole thing. I must admit, I had some pre-conceived notion that if I didn't know what acronyms such as ABAP, ETL, HCM, MDM, HANA, etc. stand for (which btw I DO surprisingly know, but that's another story...), that maybe I wouldn't be smart enough to join your party. But then, I finally decided to take the plunge today, in large part thanks to thorstenster and his recent blog post, The Most Balanced Piece I Could Write About the Stupidity of Ageism, which was shared with me via my LinkedIn network. I found myself engrossed in the topic and the subsequent comments, and thought, "Hey! I can relate to this, big time! Maybe the SCN folks might just be interested in what I have to say after all! :smile: . Check out Thorsten's post if you haven't already. A very interesting piece expressed with emotion and authenticity -- clearly striking a cord with many readers.

Before I begin my post (after all, there IS a reason I wanted to start writing here...), let me explain what a "Twofer" is for those of you who may not be native-English speakers, and/or others who may not know the slang term. A "Twofer" is short for "Two for One" or "2 for 1". In other words, I am using my first blog post to accomplish two things:

1. To introduce myself, and talk a bit about what I do at SAP, and why I love my job