cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XI3.1 Deski Reports - "You are not authorized to use this document"

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Everyone,

We upgraded from XIR2 to XI3.1 SP3. Though we imported all the contents in the server FRS and CMS database using the import Wizard, we left the DeskI reports locally saved in the user's PC in the hope that when the users install the new XI3.1 DeskI and try to open their locally saved XIR2 reports, it will be converted to XI3.1 format and open it without any problems. However, every time any XIR2 report is attempted to open using the XI3.1 DeskI, it clocks for a while and finally throws the following message:

You are not authorized to use this document

What are we not doing right?

But when we first open the XIR2 report with XIR2 DeskI and then try to open the same report using the XI3.1 Deski it open seems to work. It is very alarming as we have many DeskI users with each of them having hundreds of reports saved in their local PCs. It is quite difficult for them to open each reports in XIR2 and then open in XI3.1 and save it.

Any ideas, suggestions and recommendations will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

denis_konovalov
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

if those reports were saved with security - you're not goingt o be able to open them with Xi3.1 Deski.

problem with keeping any reports localy is that there will never be a central/managable solution to migrate/manage those reports.

Users should keep their reports in central location, like enterprise.

In your case - each user will have to make sure those reports are saved with option "save for all users" in R2 deski, before they can be openned in Xi3.1 deski.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Denis,

Thank you for the prompt reply.

>

> if those reports were saved with security - you're not goingt o be able to open them with Xi3.1 Deski.

Forgive me for my mundane question but what does saving with security mean?

Thanks

denis_konovalov
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

let's say you have a report in repository.

You import it into Deski client, then save to local drive - by efault it will be saved with security.

Or you create new report based on universe from repository, then you save it localy and publish to repo - local copy will have security.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Right. And thats the reason that it needs to be "Saved for all Users" - To break the security?

denis_konovalov
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Yep.

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

IngoH
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

This forum is for the BusinessObjects BI Solution Architecture. I would suggest you post your questions into the corresponding product forums Desktop Intelligence

regards

Ingo Hilgefort

Former Member
0 Kudos

Can I move it? Or did you mean to cross post?