cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which Component can select Multiple values from the List?

former_member197420
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Experts

I'm using Dashboards 4.0 SP05. I'm a newbie, i want to select multiple values from the List. Which Component can be used?

For Example: I want to show LOV's (List of values) for Year such as 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, etc. Now, i want to select multiple years to display in Column Chart. Let's say, 2011, 2013.

How do i achieve this using components?

Please note, i dont want to use Prompts.

This is to utilize dashboards more logically.

Thanks in Advance!

-appu

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Appu,

There is a number of ways you can do this in a really neat way. By neat I mean simple and efficient.

1. Use the List Builder. I am surprised no one suggested this. The destination of the list builder should be the source of your chart (which has to have the "By Series" data selection and the "Ignore Blank cells" option selected).

Please note that the destination for the list builder (which is the same as the source for the chart) should have the same number of rows as the number of available years.

For example, if you will select 3 years (out of 10 possible) the first 3 rows will be populated. The "Ignore Blank cells" options will make sure that the chart only picks those 10 rows. If you want to select more/less years the chart will adjust accordingly.

2. Check Box. You don't really have to use Check Boxes for this! as charts in Dashboards 4.0 have a new functionality which includes them. Go to the Options Section of your Chart in the Layout tab, scroll down and check Enable Legend and also Enable Hide/Show Chart Series at Run-time. When selected, it allows you to tick which years you want to see. This solves your problem very easily.