Did you mean: 

User Mapping

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I have a query regarding user mapping.

user mapping necessary in two cases

1. when each of the backend sytem userids are different than portal user id

2. when all the backend systems are having same userid, but different from portal user id.

in case 1, we create a system with type uid/pwd

in case 2, we create a reference system which maps the portal user id --> backend user id.

now my question is. I am an user administrator and i want to map the users.. so if I want to map the portal user id to backend user id in both the cases, should I know the passwords of the backend user'ids. i.e.

for ex: if user X has user id "portaluser" in portal and "backenduser" in all the sap backend systems. should the user now disclose his backend password, which he was using to the user administrator of portal?

Please help me in this regard

Thank you

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

detlev_beutner
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Shiva,

I have serious problems to understand your central sentence / question:

> should the user now disclose his backend password,

> which he was using to the user administrator of portal?

Anyhow, when you create a system with UIDPW, you can set the "Type of user assignment" to "adin,user", that way the users can assign the mapping by themselves without disclosing the PW.

Hope it helps

Detlev

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Detlev,

sorry for not being clear.

What I meant is,

say in our scenario, The link "Personalize" is not visible for the endusers. THe user administrator is given the task to map the portal user ids to the backend user ids.

1. How does user administrator map the user ids? will he map for each and every user to the backend user id? isnt it hectic in real time scenarios where we have more than 20000 users.