cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Truncate versioning of BRF+ applications

0 Kudos

Hello forum,

We are on RU EHP05 and are seeking some guidence for the following problem:

I notice that when you truncate/discard versions of a BRF+ application in the development system, the information is not conveyed to the taget systems through the carrying transport requests - i.e. I have an application which has no inactive versions in my DEV AS (discarded with FDT_TRUNCATE_VERSIONING), but when I check the QAS AS after the import, I see that inactive versions still exist.

Effectively, this prevents me from deleting some objects in BRF+, because the target often complains about the existence of usages. The usages are in the inactive versions, but I am confused here, because I thought FDT_TRUNCATE_VERSIONING will discard them, and the transport system will convey the new state of the application to all the targets.

To be completely clear, I do manage to delete these objects, but they are not deleted in the target - only marked for deletion. However, I would like to have identical objects in all the systems.

The question is, how do we discard the inactive versions in our target clients? Is it possible to force this?

I tried doing it with the same FDT report, but it didn't work, and this really isn't the right approach, because traget clients are usually locked for customizing changes. While unlocking may be an option for some sandbox types of clients, we wouldn't want to do it for QAS, and even less so for productive clients.

Thanks in advance, and plz come back to me with any further questions.

BR,

Srdjan

Edited by: Srdjan Danicic on Oct 27, 2011 11:40 AM

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

0 Kudos

Hi,

I suppose you are on a SP 08 or greater of 702.

Please refer note 1569810.

To support different data retention times in different systems, Truncate versioning is not transported.

Thanks and Regards,

Rama.

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

0 Kudos

Marking as "Unanswered", hoping to get just a little more information about the posted OSS note.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Carsten refers to a paper he will write on the topic. Has this paper been released? Where can I find a copy?

Thanks

Cliff

carsten_ziegler
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Srdjan,

We have understood that transport and cleanup (manual and automatic are important topics). Therefore we will provide a paper to give an overview, soon. Also we will add another capability so that some cleanup tasks are automated by the system. As soon as the paper is ready we will publish it in SDN and I will blog about it. May take about 2-3 weeks to complete.

BR,

Carsten

0 Kudos

Hi Carsten and Rama,

I believe you are both aware of the reason why I posted this topic.

I thank you both for your replies, I have just read the note Rama posted, and definitely looking forward to that article.

So far, the problem has been solved, thanks to our colleague Michael A. and the support note 1646646.

One question, regarding the OSS note 1569810:

It states that FDT_DISCARD_VERSIONING is a valid choice to get rid of the applications' versions.

However, this requires us to unlock the target clients for direct changes.

I know I'm being picky here, but I would like a confirmation: From our (SAP) current point of view, does this mean it is safe to unock, say productive clients, and run the report? I am pretty sure there aren't any consequences on the rest of the system, but this is still a sensitive matter, as I'm sure you are aware of.

If you say this procedure is safe to perform, then perhaps the project team will accept the current state of matters - especially if new transport issues arise.

Best regards,

Srdjan

Edited by: Srdjan Danicic on Oct 31, 2011 1:27 PM