cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Time to take a breather and provide some inputs for my prototype

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello everyone,

I have something to share and need your thoughts and ideas. I am a grad student at California State University, Chico and currently pursuing my MBA in Management Information Systems. The MIS department (College of Business, CSU Chico) and the SAP vibe which permeates through every molecule of the department has basically driven me to pursue a career in SAP irrespective of the Industry norms, pre-requisites, politics, benefits derived from good press, monetary benefits, etcetera etcetera. By pursuing a career I mean gaining max knowledge and living life at its simplest level. Staying away from triviality in a nut shell...

I am going to summarize a model of mine which is still quite fresh and took 30 minutes of my time to be developed. I've been posting it through emails and on some private forums since October 2009. So it's on the Internet and dated (FYI).

Model:

Increase the query performance (providing specific insight) by segregated exception reporting

Involves either a dual data warehouse approach or 2 groups of DSO's (DSO approach may sound more reasonable and cost-effective though)

1) Strategic DW/DSO: will contain good data (statistical calculations will always result above break-even

2) Exception DW/DSO: will contain bad data (statistical calculations will always result below break-even

Initial Infrastructure:

1) 2 DW's or 2 groups of DSO's (Strategic and Exception)

2) Not pulled the data yet

3) Setting up a break-even based on historical data sets (Management level decision making). Once decided then include it in the extractor level intelligence level (code) so that the source data detour's into the appropriate closets (DW/objects) accordingly. Basically, greater than equal to break-even moves towards Strategic compartment and less than break-even moves into Exception compartment.