cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stand alone Data Services Designer

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All

I am new to Data Services , can any body throw some light on how I can use Data service designer alone with out Server what all I can do with designer itself.

Thanks

Santosh Varada

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Santosh,

With only Data Services designer, you cannot do anything. in first place you will not be able to install designer alone.

Which version of DS are you going to install and use?

Basically you need a DB for creating repositories, BOE CMC (or IPS CMC) to create/configure users & repos (for DS 3.2 onwards), you need other components like Repository manager for creating DS local/central repos, Server manager for creating job servers. After doing all these only you will be able to log in to DS designer.

Hope this helps. Thanks, Arun J.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Arun

Thanks for sharing your wisdom, as of now I have installed BODS  designer 4.1 , actually while installing the Designer it asked for license key, generally client tools don't ask for license unless something can be done with stand alone tool.So I thought may be we can do some thing with flat files in , web services with out the using server.Correct me if my perspective is wrong.

Thanks

Santosh Varada

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Santosh,

For DS 4.1, system requirements and supported environments will be available in PAM (Product Availability Matrix) for DS4.1.

As I mentioned earlier, you either need BOE CMC or if you are going to use only DS (and not BO reporting) you need IPS CMC. You also need a DB for DS to manage its meta data - meta data repository will be created and maintained by DS. You need to install IPS first and then DS. When you do it, Repo Man, Server Man, DS Admin Console, DS Deginer, etc will get installed. And before loggin in to DS,