cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Organisation of dimensions and characteristics

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi gurus,

I have one basic question about modeling with dimensions. I am still learning and trying to better understand.

I saw the scenario 1 and thought it is wrong.

So I thought scenario 2 would be a better solution.

Now I read that the scenario 3 is also possible.

If there is the current scenarios with the same characteristics but with different dimensions, what is the difference between them? Especially between 2 and 3.

The requirement would be for example:

Turn over for customer X with risk class 2 in month 03.2011.

Open items within sales division X for Customer X in month 05.2011.

Turn over for business segment X in month 02.2011.

Turn over for customer X in country US with risk class 5 in month 01.2011.

Wouldn't it be possible to achieve that with scenarion 2 and 3 and is there any reason why not with scenario 1?

Thank you in advance for your help!

Scenario 1:

-

Dimensions:

Organisational units

Company code

Credit control area

Customer number

Profit Center

Business unit

Business segment

Sales organisation

Sales division

Distribution channel

Time

Calmonth

Risk class

Risk score

Country

Country

Facts:

turn over

open items

Scenario 2 (data model changed/ separated dimensions):

-

Dimensions:

Company code

Credit control area

Company code

Customer

Customer number

Profit Center

Profit center

Business segment

Business unit

Sales organisation

Sales organisation

Distribution channel

Sales division

Time

Calmonth

Risk class

Risk score

Country

Country

Facts:

turn over

open items

Scenario 3:

-

Dimensions:

Customer

Customer number

Organisational units

Company code

Credit control area

Profit Center

Business unit

Business segment

Sales organisation

Sales division

Distribution channel

Time

Calmonth

Risk class

Risk score

Country

Country

Facts:

turn over

open items