cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Location of room documents / Moving room documents upon room deletion

Former Member
0 Kudos
92

Hi All!

I have two questions concearning room extensions / room documents and any input on one or both of those questions would be much appreciated.

1)

I set up several room templates which use room extensions to create the folder structure for future room content. By content I mean room documents, FAQs, discussions etc. The problem is that it seems to be impossible to place all room content folders within one single directory (which, in my opinion, would be ideal in respect of backing up data or administrating the room contents). I'll try to better explain what I mean:

Instead of a hierarchy like this:

/rooms/room_a/documents

/rooms/room_a/FAQ

/rooms/room_a/discussions

/rooms/room_b/documents

/rooms/room_b/FAQ

/rooms/room_b/discussions

...

The room extensions seem only to allow the following two structures (let's say that "/rooms" already exists):

/rooms/documents/workspaces/documents (of room A)

/rooms/documents/workspaces/documents (of room B)

...

/rooms/FAQ/workspaces/FAQ (of room A)

/rooms/FAQ/workspaces/FAQ (of room B)

...

etc.

or, if one sets all extensions to the same store (path) called "/rooms":

/rooms/workspaces/documents (of room A)

/rooms/workspaces/documents (of room B)

/rooms/workspaces/FAQ (of room A)

/rooms/workspaces/FAQ (of room B)

...

etc.

Either way, one ends up having elements from different rooms within the same directories, all named alike (the IDs are different, of course, but hidden). This makes it very difficult to find out e.g which "documents" folder belongs to which room.

The second thing I don't understand is why the extensions always create a subfolder called "workspaces", even though this folder can't be found within the definition of the respective store (path). Can the creation of this folder be avoided or is it necessary for internal reasons?

Is it at all possible to create the desired structure shown above? This would mean to (automatically) create a folder named after the room currently being created and several subfolders according to the different extensions (Documents, FAQ, etc.).

2)

I know that it is either possible to leave all room documents where they are upon room deletion or to delete them along with the room (by adding the extension point ON_DELETE_ROOM to the appropriate extension).

However, we would like to keep the documents of deleted rooms and automatically move them to an archive directory when a user decides to delete a room (or, in other words, closes a project).

Can this be achieved and (if yes) how?

I know those are a lot of questions. I also hope I could explain what I mean. Thanks a lot in advance for your time and efforts!

Regards,

Jens

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

detlev_beutner
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Jens,

about your first question: The extension implementation itself will use this "workspace" path addition. If it's nowhere configured (I haven't checked it again, but I trust you), you cannot change it and/or changing would mean modifying the implementation. As the room stores are very technical under the repository, I think it's quite OK how they are stored (it's not expected to "browse around" in the rooms repository, except for getting an idea how the rep's are built technically). To be sure, you could check the implementation (decompile the extension).

About the second question: That could be done quite "easily" by implementing your own "archiving" extension (with implemented extension point ON_DELETE_ROOM). See https://media.sdn.sap.com/html/submitted_docs/nw_kmc/howto/coll/Room%20Extension%20Developer%20Guide... for an introduction.

Hope it helps

Detlev

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks, Detlev!

You have been very helpful. Your detailed answer is much appreciated.

I guess we will just have to live with the folder structure as it is.

I'm aware of the fact that room content should not be tampered with by browsing the room repository. However, since there is no predefined way of archiving the content one would have to either never delete any room or to leave the content where it is upon room deletion. In both cases the room repository will get quite crowded over time and it doesn't help much that the folders are all named alike. After all, they do contain very critical project documents which can't be accessed in any other way than directly via the repository, once the room has been deleted.

We will explore the possibility of implementing an "archive extension", though! This would solve the most pressing problem, leaving just the mere cosmetic problem of the folder structure.

Thanks again!

Regards,

Jens

detlev_beutner
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Jens,

> Thanks again!

You're welcome. Please consider rewarding points for helpful answers on SDN.

Thanks in advance

Detlev

junmei
Participant
0 Kudos

>

> About the second question: That could be done quite

> "easily" by implementing your own "archiving"

> extension (with implemented extension point

> ON_DELETE_ROOM). See

> https://media.sdn.sap.com/html/submitted_docs/nw_kmc/h

> owto/coll/Room%20Extension%20Developer%20Guide.html

> for an introduction.

>

However, we would like to <b>move</b> the documents

of the rooms to the taxononomies when a user decides to move the documents (or, in other words, make documents available for all users and not only for the members of the room).

Is this possible? (Your personal documents can be moved to the upload folder but in the context menu of the document in a room this option is not available)

Is it possible to transfer documents from one room to another room?

Best regards

Luc

Former Member
0 Kudos

Luc,

I am not exactly sure what you mean, because in our rooms we are able to move room documents to the folder "public documents" and to the "documents" folder of other rooms.

"Public Documents" and "My Room Folders" are entry points which become visible (in the form of clickable icons) when choosing "copy" or "move" from the context menu of a file or a folder in the "room documents" iView. This means that you can jump to the folders in question by clicking the entry point icons and then choose those folders as a destination for moving or copying documents by clicking "OK".

It is, however, possible, that those entry points (and maybe some other ones, too) are deactivated in your portal installation.

System Administration --> System Configuration --> Knowledge Management --> Content Management --> Repository Managers --> Entry Point Providers.

You'll find there a list of entry points. Each of them can be activated or deactivated. The entry "Entry Points" in the list is not an entry point itself but leads to another list - the list of the available "Room Entry Points". (Very intuitive design, btw.!) If you activate the "myroomfoldersentrypointprovider" there you should be able to copy your room documents to other rooms because the shortcut to your other room's folders will then appear in the "move / copy" screen.

If you mean that there is no "move" command in the context menus of your documents at all, I'm sorry to say that I'm at a loss. The "move" command is available to both our room owners as well as our ordinary room members.

Did that answer your question?

Bye,

Jens

Answers (0)