cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Launching a report using RAS under VS.NET 2013

0 Kudos

Hello,

I am an experienced Crystal Reports developer and have built a very simple report using CR Developer 14.  The report is designed to be used against a SQL Server database and an Oracle database.  In the designer, I have no problem loading the same report, and when I run it, connecting to either the SQL Server or Oracle database. 

Using the asp.net application I developed under VS.NET 2013 Professional, different story and bigger problem.  Using the Crystal Reports Engine, I have no problem loading the report and displaying in the crystal reports viewer, provided I load the report first in the designer and save it for the target database.  In other words, using the crystal reports engine/document objects under vs.net, I cannot dynamically set the datasource; the only logon property I cannot set is the db provider!  Thus I am stuck.

However I have been told that the Report Application Server can dynamically set the datasource/all logon properties.  But I have not been able to get a report to launch.  I get the error message attached to this thread. 

I do not understand what to do next; if I need to buy more Crystal components or install/configure my environment better or ?

Can someone please provide me with a list of steps/tasks I can look into that will launch this report?  Again, my launch code is very simple, and it results in a very hard error that I've been grappling with all day.  Please advise!  Thank you.

Protected Sub Page_Load(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles Me.Load

Dim myReport As New CrystalDecisions.ReportAppServer.ClientDoc.ReportClientDocument

myReport.ReportAppServer = "GEORGED743"

myReport.Open("C:\Users\George\RoyalDesignDev\CRWeb\CrystalReport1.rpt")

CrystalReportViewer1.ReportSource = myReport

End Sub

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

former_member207665
Active Participant
0 Kudos