cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to look up values in a table/array in Crystal 2013?

Former Member
0 Kudos

I'm a newbie with Crystal Reports, learning as I go along.  I need help from the experts on how to look up values in a table and use them in Crystal Reports 2013.  Here's what I'm trying to do.

We have a salary scale for employees, which scale is in a table.  An employee's salary depends on the Step and Lane the employee is in.  Across the top of the table (in columns) are Lanes I through V.  Down the left side (in rows) are Steps 1 through 10.  There is a salary amount in each cell.  For example, if an employee is in Step 1, Lane I, the salary in the table for that is $34,679.  The next year, the employee automatically moves 1 Step, or to Step 2, Lane I (assumes there are no changes in lanes; just in steps) and gets the salary in the cell for Step 2, Lane I, or $36,001.  The table looks like this:

LANES

I               II               III               IV               V

STEPS

1               34,679     43,432     52,184         60,937         69,689

2               36,001     44,752     53,505         62,257         71,010

And so on, with salaries in each of the above cells.

I have a Crystal Report that pulls from our database the Employee Name, Current Step, Current Lane and Current salary, as follows:

Employee Name     Step     Lane     Current Salary     Next Year's Salary

John Smith               1              I          $34,679               $36,001

What I'm trying to do is have Crystal see that John Smith is in Step 1, Lane 1, add 1 to the Step (so it's Step 2), and then go to the table and get the salary for Step 2, Lane 1 and put that salary in the column Next Year's Salary (in this case, $36,001).  Since the table is not in the data base, I know some how I need to get it into Crystal.

Can this be done in Crystal Reports 2013?  If so, how do I do it?

Many thanks.

Mike

Accepted Solutions (1)