cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I upload a network hierarhcy into SAP BW?

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am trying to import a large network hierarchy with "link nodes" into SAP BW.

I'm new to SAP, and BW 7.0 is all I know. However, apparently, you can't use the new 7.0 concepts and methods to import hierarchies. You must use older 3.5 methods, including a 3.5 InfoSource.

I found some instructions at http://help.sap.com/saphelp_nw70/helpdata/en/fa/e92637c2cbf357e10000009b38f936/frameset.htm

Which documents how do import hierarchies using 3.5 mechanisms in version 7.0.

Unfortunately, I am unable to follow these steps. I create the 3.5 InfoSource, and the docs say:

"Choose InfoSource Tree ® Your Application Component ® Your InfoSource ® Assign Source System."

However, I see no option to "Assign Source System" anywhere. Also, when I create the 3.5 InfoSource, I see the target InfoObject show up in the InfoSources tree, but I don't see a InfoSource object show up in the InfoSources tree. I'm not sure what to do.

Message was edited by: Giesen

Completely revised post.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

krzysztof_konitz4
Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi,

Instead of "Assign Source System" choose "Additional Functions" -> "Create Transder Rules"...

regards

Krzys

Former Member
0 Kudos

Actually, I tried that. (Thanks very much for reply)

I tried right-clicking the root InfoObject (in InfoSource tree view) and selecting "Additional Functions" -> "Generate Export DataSource"

I get a dialog that says "The generation of DataSource was successful" (If I switch to the DataSources view, I don't see this new DataSource. Do I need to locate this?)

Then I right-click the hierarchy object in the InfoSources tree view and select "Additional Functions" -> "Create Transfer Rules".

I get a dialog to choose my source system. I do so, and I get the error, "No available DataSources for source system XYZ exist".