cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Formula to calculate Time that has condition.

Former Member
0 Kudos

Post Author: alexander_tze

CA Forum: Formula

hi everyone,

i'm new to crystal report 2008, wish that you all can help.

i'm trying to calculate some data from a database. Below was the example of the database.

ID Condition Time Floor

1 1 10:54:48 AM 12 1 10:54:48 AM 29 0 10:55:02 AM 210 0 10:55:16 AM 1

With these database, i'm going to calculate the time for each floor ( floor 1 and 2) with the condition "1" and "0"( "1" for start time and "0" for end time). below was the basic theory for the calculation

(Floor 1 with time (10:54:48) and condition="0" ) - ( Floor 1 with time (10:55:16) and condition="1" )

and the result should be 18 second.

The same theory goes to floor 2(Floor 2 with time (10:54:48) and condition="0" ) - ( Floor 2 with time (10:55:02) and condition="1" )

hope that you guys can help me to create a formula for these "time calculation"

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (13)

Answers (13)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Post Author: pandabear

Hey alexander,

There's so much info that's needed for this problem, so I'm going to make some assumptions and

give you a possibility. Crystal is a hierarchal (spelling?) animal. When it makes calculations, it

does it from the top down. If the final number for your chart is in the footer, you cannot put the chart

ABOVE that footer and get the final number. e.g. you chart shows the wrong number.

Solution: Process all the numbers in the query; that way you can put the chart any place you want.

If you can't write this query, then try to get someone who can.

The formula you present in the beginning cannot work because the condition "0" or "1" returns 0 data

on the examples you show. If this is part of the real data, you need to change the formula filters.

It's a shot in the dark, but I really hope this helps,

The Panda

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi guys,