cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

dotNet

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am an experienced PB developer, started with v3, but I am struggling with dotNet.  So much does not seem to make sense.

One thing in particular is worrying me.  Let's say I create a customised commandButton, in classic I just dragged onto a surface and lo and behold we were up and running.  This does not work in dotNet - why?  Is there a workaround?

When importing an app from Classic it seemed as if it was writing any code in the control to each object that contains control, or is that just how it looks?  So if my customised commandButton contained a function of_func() and the button was used 10 times then the code in of_func() gets written out 10 times??????  Someone please tell me I am wrong.

Thanks

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Bill;

In PB.Net its based on WPF and .... WPF does not support inheritance. So PB.Net needs to "fake" the inheritance feature internally - which it does. When PB.Net builds the C#,& XAML code for compilation it collapses all the ancestor code into the lowest descendant. Yes .. OMG ... does this not then build huge object source files ... you bet!. 

So this is why your PB Classic code gets weird when converted to PB.net and methods look so distorted sometimes - especially when there is a significant ancestry tree invloved. PB Classic is built on proper inheritance model because its C++ based. PB.Net would also be OK inheritance wise too (pure C# only) but adding WPF into the mix basically "killed" that clean implementation.