cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exlcude Member from Expansion

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi All,

I'm very new to BPC, and I'm having trouble desinging a report. I would like to run a report with all Base member in the ACCOUNT Dimension EXCEPT those that belong to the member A.TOT_OFFENDING_ACCTS. I've been playing around with the expansion range of the EVDRE, but I can't see how this is possible. I see how to exclude accounts based on a property with the Build Filter feature. Unfortunately there is no property common to only these accounts, and I don't have control over the properties. I also see how to include only certain members through a list, but if I use this option I may miss members that are added later.

I haven't found any other means of filtering, and suppression seems to only relate to items with null measurements. Is it possible to exlcude certain members? This seems like such a basic request. I feel like I'm missing a big piece of information.

Thanks.

Erin

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

esjewett
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Erin,

I'm doing this from memory and not testing in a system right now, but I believe that the ID of a dimension can be treated as a property for the purpose of filtering. So you would want to try "ID<>TOT_OFFENDING_ACCTS AND CALC=N" as your filter in the Account memberset to get all base level accounts that are not TOT_OFFENDING_ACCTS.

Hopefully that works for you.

Cheers,

Ethan

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks Ethan, but I'm getting an error in the EVDRE cell when I try that, #ERR: Invalid member or flag in <member set>, item: IDTOT_OFFENDING_ACCTS AND CALC=N, col# 2. After asking around a bit more, I'm being told that it isn't possible to exclude certain members. That instead I need to list those to include. I'm not happy about that as the list will require constant maintenance as new members are added. If anyone has information to the contrary, I'm all ears.

Thanks.

Erin