Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

question on interface for FB50

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am new to the ABAP world and a little confused on the interfacing of FB50. we currently have a ABAP process that reads a text file and submits the G/L data using FB01 and RFBIBL00. We would like to start using FB50 and I am reading that this is a enjoySAP transaction that does support batch input. I am also reading about interfaces to FB50 that use the bapi BAPI_ACC_DOCUMENT_POST and/or BAPI_ACC_GL_POSTING_POST. Can I write a ABAP to read the text file and use one of the BAPI's to load data to the FB50 transaction? We would like to separate our loading processes so that we can use FB50, FB60, FB70 and move away from FB01 to load all of our data.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Former Member
0 Kudos

so what you are saying is that even if I set this up to run in background with the "user" parameter for the submit statement, I will still have this issue.

21 REPLIES 21

Former Member
0 Kudos

What difference is it going to make if you are doing this through an interface anyway?

Enjoy transactions are meant to be for users who are posting them online. If you are only interfacing, then it doesn't matter whether it is FB01 or FB50 as long as the data is stored the same way and accounting entries are made correctly.

You can use the BAPI, but then you will write all the code yourself to format the file data into the way BAPI expects and also you have to write code to take care of error handling. What should you do when an error occurs? Where will store the record that caused the error? These are just a couple of things that you may have to do yourself, if you are calling a BAPI.

Also, read the documentation of the BAPI and see if these transactions are supported.

Srinivas