Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Performance tuning SELECTs: Can I force a TRUE db read every time?

former_member210148
Participant
0 Kudos

Good day everyone!

I've been programming in ABAP for almost 6 years now, and I'd like to begin learning more about performance tuning with respect to database performance.

More specifically, I'm testing some things in a particular SELECT in a report program we have that is timing out in the foreground because of the SELECT. When I first run the program, the SELECT goes against the database, as we all know. Subsequent runs, however, use the buffered data, so the response is a lot quicker and doesn't really reflect that first, initial database read.

Am I correct in assuming that I should be testing my various approaches and collecting performance runtimes against that initial, "true" database read? If that's the case, is there any way I can force the system to actually read the database instead of the buffered data? For those experienced with this kind of performance analysis and tuning, what's the best approach for someone very new to this area such as myself?

Thank you,

Dave

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Former Member
0 Kudos

You can add BYPASSING BUFFER to the SELECT. But SAP recommends that you do multiple SELECTs and take the lowest time for your analysis.

Rob

14 REPLIES 14

Former Member
0 Kudos

You can add BYPASSING BUFFER to the SELECT. But SAP recommends that you do multiple SELECTs and take the lowest time for your analysis.

Rob

0 Kudos

So the recommendation is to take a few test run readings and get an average?

Thanks Rob!

0 Kudos

No - the lowest. I think you'll find this documented somewhere.

Rob

0 Kudos

Gotcha. I was reading too much into your original reply.