Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PERFORM ... ON COMMIT and ROLLBACK

thw
Explorer
0 Kudos

Hello ABAP experts,

I am quite new to SAP LUW, want to execute 2 SQL statements in one unit and didn't find anyhting in the web ...

So to keep it simple I have the following programme.

On COMMIT WORK it first executs form insert1 and then update1.

If sy-subrc <> 0 in from insert1 I want to do a rollback, but I am not allowed to use ROLLBACK WORK statement in that form.

So what possibilities do I have to raise an error without aborting the whole programme and to rollback the work?

Thanks in advance,

Thomas

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

oliver_wurm
Active Participant

Hi Thomas,

the forms you have passed to the update task are executed in that sequence as your PERFORM Statements. Each form has to check the returncode of the SQL Statements and if there is an error it needs to stop the update Task. So if "insert1" gets SY-SUBRC = 4 it should raise an abort message (Type A) which will automatically perform a rollback work and will stop the LUW immediately.

Regards

Oliver

5 REPLIES 5

Juwin
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

You should perform all the validations before the COMMIT WORK statement. The INSERT statement will fail only if the key is already existing in the table. That check can be performed well in advance, not waiting for the actual INSERT to happen.

Thanks,

Juwin

Former Member
0 Kudos

Agree with Juwin.

Not sure what your requirement . Why would you first insert and then update the same table.

Still one way can be to call the subroutine for update inside the subroutine for Insert instead of calling it in ON COMMIT based on the sy-subrc value after insert statement.