Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lock Modes

Former Member
0 Kudos

Could anyone in detail explain me what is extensible or enhanced lock and exclusive lock and then what do u mean by sayin exclusive lock does not allow accumulation?


Former Member
0 Kudos

Former Member
0 Kudos


There are 3 types of lock modes .

Lock objects are use in SAP to avoid the inconsistancy at the time of data is being insert/change into database.

- Read Lock(Shared Locked) protects read access to an object. The read lock allows other transactions read access but not write access to the locked area of the table

- Write Lock(exclusive lock)

protects write access to an object. The write lock allows other transactions neither read nor write access to

the locked area of the table.

- Enhanced write lock (exclusive lock without cumulating)

works like a write lock except that the enhanced write lock also protects from further accesses from the same transaction.

Former Member
0 Kudos


Lock mode E (extensible): This sets a lock for changing data for single user. This lock can be accumulated.

Lock mode X(exclusive): This mode is used like mode E for changing data. The only technical difference from mode E is that the respective lock does not allow accumulation.

Lock mode S(SHARED): This mode ensures that data displayed in your program cannot be changed by other users during the entire display time. Here you do not want to change the data yourself (allows read only access for data).