Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating DB link in SAP ABAP to retrieve data from external system

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi gurus, Hope you all are fine. I have a requirement in which i have to retrieve data from external system database (Oracle) and then need to post it in SAP FI. I have never done this before. Can anybody tell me step by step how can i create DB link in SAP to access external system tables and what ABAP code need to write for it? Kindly guide step by step. I will much appreciate that.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

raymond_giuseppi
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Look at tool as ADBC - ABAP Database Connectivity  to execute SQL statement (OO substitute of native SQL statements), but first you need to actually connect database.

This part is not related to Abap : For Information on a tool as DB connect, look at document DB Connect Architecture and reference note 323151 - Several DB connections with Native SQL. Not that Basis will be required to install some component to access a database type distinct from current one (An other manufacturer, e.g. access Oracle if SAP running on MS SQL)

NB: You could also perform some search on UD Connect (uses Application Server J2EE connectivity)

Regards,

Raymond

6 REPLIES 6

raymond_giuseppi
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Look at tool as ADBC - ABAP Database Connectivity  to execute SQL statement (OO substitute of native SQL statements), but first you need to actually connect database.