Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ABAP classes

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I need to do some work on ABAP classes which I have never done before. therefore, I have a couple of questions which I would appreciate if anyone could help me with:

First, what is the difference between all these classes compare to the traditional abap code.

Second, are these classes similar to the classes in JAVA?

Thirdly, is there any good place on the internet that offer some good introductory material on the topic?

Thanks a lot!

Regards,

Anyi

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

RichHeilman
Developer Advocate
Developer Advocate
0 Kudos

These are all good links, to answer your second question, yes ABAP classes are like java classes. ABAP and Java both use a simular Object Oriented model. One difference is that in java, the definition and implementation are merged together, in ABAP, they are separate.

There are some things that you can do in Java, that is not directly supported in ABAP objects, but you can mimic the functionality in other ways.

Regards,

Rich Heilman

7 REPLIES 7

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Check the transaction ABAPDOCU for examples of classes..

Thanks,

Naren

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Anyi,

See the below SAP link, you will get the answers

http://help.sap.com/saphelp_nw04/helpdata/en/b3/f4b1406fecef0fe10000000a1550b0/content.htm

http://help.sap.com/saphelp_nw2004s/helpdata/en/ee/e440a670a111d1b44c0000e8a52bed/content.htm

goto T.code <b>SE24</b>, press the F4, select oneClass the read the Documentaion of the Class, you will understand the use of that class

Regards

Sudheer

suresh_datti
Active Contributor
0 Kudos