cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Restriction of Deletion of WBS controlled through Validation OPSI

former_member613562
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi

We have requirement where we need to prevent the user from deleting certain WBS where 8th character of wbs coding mask is I,A,S,D,T,X & O

We are trying to meet this requirement through standard functionality of Validation and not by user status as i cannot control the user status for specific wbs

Thanks and Regards

Simon Walter

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

BalaAP
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Another lengthy approach could be:

1) Identify what are the common characteristics with project's 8th character having I,A,S,D,T,X & O.

2) Check a suitable auth. object relevant to these common characteristics.

3) Try to disable 'delete' activity of this auth. object and apply this auth.object to the user role.

But user exit is pretty easy to implement (instead of doing this circus).

Paulo_Vitoriano
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Simon,

This would be a development. Anyway it is a strange request, because WBS id can be edited and there would be always an option to rename and delete... And if you prohibit renaming means no typos can be made, so either way...

Regards,

Paulo

former_member613562
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi Paulo,

The WBS length validation is already there thus user cannot delete the change the WBS length

The projects are linked with PPM DP, and there is a DFM settings which are running to and fro from DP to level 2 WBS and Level 2 WBS to DP. If the user accidently delete the WBS then the entire DFM settings are jeopardized

Thanks and Regards

Simon Walter

Paulo_Vitoriano
Active Contributor

Hi Simon,

It is perfectly possible to change WBS code and keep the same length, so not sure how the length validation is connected at all.

If you have "A" in 8th position the user can change that to "B" and delete the WBS.

Possibly the better way would be to have a special authorisation to delete WBS element by having a special user status by default that prevents the deletion and authorisation will be needed to remove it.

Regards,

Paulo