Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XML String from WD to Flex XML

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am new in flex development. I'd like to transfer an XML String to Flex. Unfortunately I don't´know how to do this.

In abap web dynpro I created a string variable which contains the xml. The string contains e.g. the following hierarchical information:

In flex I created the following variable:

public var XmlString:String;

I am using a open source component in flex which can display this hierarchy. This component expects the information as a variable of type XML:

Does anyone know, how to convert the string XML into the flex XML type?

Thank you and best regards, Eddy

5 REPLIES 5

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Edger,

You can use the new XML() constructor to create an XML object from a string, as follows:

var myDataProvider:XML = new XML('<Organization name="Manager" experience="20">
<Organization name="Project Lead" experience="10">
<Organization name="Architect" experience="6"/>
<Organization name="Developer" experience="3"/>
<Organization name="Developer" experience="1"/>
<Organization name="Developer" experience="2"/>');

For more help you can refer XML type conversion in :

http://127.0.0.1:54718/help/index.jsp?topic=/com.adobe.flexbuilder.help/html/13_Working_with_XML_01....

Regards,

Vivek

0 Kudos

Hi Vivek,

thank you for your answer.

I knew that possibility to create an XML using your mentioned XML constructor. My problem is I originally have an xml string on abap web dynpro side.