Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why is the Rows Fixed in a Table in Smartforms?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I am new to smartforms. This one particular Smartform has a Table defined in the Main Window. In the “Data Tab” of the Table under the “Loop” heading an internal table is used to pass information to the Table. There is no Loop defined. Only the Table is defined in the Main Window. The funny part is when the SamrtForm is run 15 rows get displayed. The program that populates the SmartForm always sends 15 rows to the SmartForm. I tried to send the actual number of rows, then nothing gets displayed in the SmartForm. It seems that some where in the SmartForm the 15 rows is doing some spooky things. How to solve this?

Thanks,

Kishan

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

former_member221770
Contributor
0 Kudos

Kishan,

The TABLE node in SmartForms automatically loops through the table specified inthe "Data" tab. The data passed through the TABLES paramater are defined with reference to Table Types. They have no header line. So in the "Data" tab, you must also define a work area for the TABLE node to loop into.

That is why in the "Data" tab, you see in the Loop section, a INTO (or ASSIGNING) operand. You need to pass the record into a work area. When you are displaying the data, just like in a normal ABAP program, you use the work area.

Not sure what you mean by "I tried to send the actual number of rows, then nothing gets displayed in the SmartForm".

Hope this helps.

Cheers,

Pat.

6 REPLIES 6

former_member221770
Contributor
0 Kudos

Kishan,