Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to give Item text automatically while saving the Purchaser order in ME21N

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I have an issue like how to populate the ITEM TEXT when the user creates a PO using the transaction ME21N automatically.

I am looking at the FM CREATE_TEXT but it needs the PO number and i am not able to get the PO number in few exits which i checked. Do we have any other solution for this? I also checked out that there is a BADI - ME_PROCESS_PO_CUST. in this there is a method to set texts. But i am not at all sure how this can be used. I am very new to OOPS concept . Can anyone help me with some sample code?

Regards,
Venkatesh.

5 REPLIES 5

Venkat_Sesha
Advisor
Advisor
0 Kudos

Before you save the PO you check whether the user entered any data in the Texts from the ME_PROCESS_PO_CUST BADI.. You can do that in the below mentioned methods. I didnt gone deeply. Check which is the most feseable and correct one.

PROCESS_ITEM

PROCESS_SCHEDULE

PROCESS_ACCOUNT

CHECK

CLOSE

If the User didnt entered any data here. Populate a Information Message and Donot save PO.

You dont need to call the Create_text Function module. The Message Tells that User should enter something in the Texts, else he cannot go further(because you are not allowing ).

Hope this helps.

0 Kudos

Hi,

I have tried using the BADi - ME_PROCESS_PO_CUST  and the method - Process_item. when i activated it with the simple code - BReak-point - it is not getting triggered. Let me tell what i did here ...

step 1 - used the tcode SE19 - create implementation - classic badi - ME_PROCESS_PO_CUST and then created implemetation with ZPO_ITEM_TEXT.

Step 2 - Now in the ZPO_ITEM_TEXT and then in the process_item - i have written - break-point as the code.